Carmi Rifle Club, a not for-profit organization, will be offering its spring 16-hour Concealed Carry class, March 30 and April 6. Sixteen hours of training are required by law for the Illinois license. The club will host the Day 1 class, which covers firearms and marksmanship on March 30. The Day 2 class which covers the legal portion and range qualification is scheduled for Saturday, April 6. The classroom portion will be conducted at the White County Farm Bureau building, with range training and qualification at the Carmi Rifle Club. Instructors will be Illinois State Police registered concealed carry instructors Mike and Valinda Rowe.
Students who have up to eight hours of acceptable prior training which can be credited toward the 16 total hours may register for the April 6-Day 2 class without attending the Day 1 class. Acceptable prior training would include an honorable military discharge or NRA Basic Pistol certificate, or a combination of Illinois Hunter Safety certificate along with a Utah concealed carry license.
Other training might qualify but would have to be confirmed prior to registration.
Hours for both classes will be 8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. The fee for each day/class is $115. Preregistration is required.